Tears n’ Tunes

My quick response to the Daily Prompt: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/28/prompt-singing-the-blues/

I know this sounds counter-intuitive, but if I have the blues, I listen to the bluest music available. The quiet Miles Davis sessions. The most mournful Joni Mitchell love-lost ballads. I never thought that people listened to sad songs in order to be sadder – music offers a path out of sadness. Sure, I’ll cry and really get into the lyrics and try to apply them to the given sad, sad situation – but at some point, I begin to feel better. All of a sudden, I’d rather listen to “Layla,” because hey, at least it’s a bad-ass sad love song. Then maybe I crank it up, listen to some obscure Zepellin, or maybe some tiki lounge. Before I know it, I’m listening to “Happy” by Pharrell and thinking of real ways that I can pull myself out of the pit. 

 

5 responses to “Tears n’ Tunes

  1. Pingback: Singing the Blues | Alexia Jones

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Singing the Blues | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  3. Pingback: 10 Tips for Beating the Blues (+ an Amusing Picture) | lynnesartandsoul

  4. Roe

    I’m the same way! I compare it to sweating out a fever – Sometimes you just gotta have the sadness overwhelm you until it passes. And music is so great at doing that.

  5. Pingback: Day 17: Increase Your Commenting Confidence | Roe Knows Best

Leave a Reply

